fbpx
A Night with ANGEL KHOURY

A Night with Author Angel Khoury 
BETWEEN TIDES

Join us on Tuesday, November 16 at 5:30 pm to meet author Angel Khoury, a Suffolk native and Suffolk High School graduate. Angel will be reading from her new book, Between Tides, and sharing her perspectives as a former editor and publisher, and now a novelist. Joining her for conversation will be life-long educator Joyce Trump. Mrs. Trump was a teacher and administrator in public schools for 37 years. She taught history at Suffolk High School and served as Superintendent of Schools for five years at the end of her career. A member of the Suffolk Literary Club since the 1970s, Mrs. Trump and Angel will be discuss Between Tides, the writing process, and much more.
Between Tides will be for sale at the event, and the author will be available for signing.

MEET THE AUTHOR

When: Tuesday, NOV. 16 @ 5:30 PM
Where:
Suffolk Center for Cultural Arts
Cost: FREE and Open to the Public
RSVP:
Please let us know if you can attend this event by emailing: Tiffany.Rohrback@suffolkcenter.org

SOLACE logo with Sponsors
Meet Angel Khoury
ORDER Between Tides

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
A native of Suffolk, Virginia, Angel Khoury graduated from the University of Virginia, and also attended Randolph-Macon Woman’s College. After spending a summer on the Outer Banks she was compelled to stay, and has been there the past 40 years. Khoury became an editor at The Coastland Times newspaper, editor and publisher of Outer Banks Magazine, and is the author of Manteo: A Roanoke Island Town. She is a board member of the non-profit Outer Banks Conservationists, which owns the Currituck Beach Lighthouse and Island Farm. She lives on Roanoke Island, surrounded by history, among friends both living and dead.

Writer Angel Khoury has spent the last 40 years on North Carolina’s Outer Banks. A long-ago summer spent working as a dishwasher at the Avalon Fishing Pier, waves washing below her feet while reading MacNeill’s The Hatterasman propped above the sink, convinced her to stay. Now, she shares her literary debut, BETWEEN TIDES (Dzanc Books; August 10, 2021), a rich and powerful historical novel set on both the Outer Banks and Cape Cod.

In this undeniable page turner, Khoury introduces readers to a tangled family history spanning a half century, about the slow-motion vanishing of a man who moves between his two families, on Cape Cod and the Outer Banks, and the three women he leaves stranded in his wake. In the 1890s a man deserts his wife and his post as keeper of the Chatham Beach Lifesaving Station to start a new family far to the south, at Cape Hatteras. In the 1940s his daughter, en route to serve in World War II with the Red Cross, travels to Cape Cod and meets his first wife, reanimating a life long buried: memories of her courtship, her bitter losses, and her husband’s inconstancies.

BETWEEN TIDES is meticulously researched and loosely based on a story Khoury first heard more than 20 years ago, while researching her non-fiction book on the history of Manteo, NC. At that time Khoury was introduced to a woman, then in her 80s, whose father who had disappeared “between tides” from his post as keeper of a life-saving station, leaving his first wife behind, a story that stuck with her over the years and ultimately became the backbone of her novel. Khoury spent countless hours in conversation with the daughter over 10 years, fascinated by both the man’s motives and how his actions impacted others. While BETWEEN TIDES is firmly a work of fiction, the ideas of absence and loss cultivated by Khoury’s relationship with the daughter have influenced her novel.

BETWEEN TIDES is as much about place as it is about the characters who inhabit it. Set on two rugged seascapes, Cape Cod and the Outer Banks, it is a lyrical novel for readers of Where the Crawdads Sing and Housekeeping. It is a story of two women stitching together a family ripped at the seams and proving that even through absence, love’s presence is everlasting.